Duke Players in the NBA

A total of 49 former Duke players have appeared on an NBA roster, including 13 entering the 2007-08 season (as of Oct. 1, 2007). In 2007, Josh McRoberts became the 39th draft selection under Mike Krzyzewski. Duke has had nine NBA lottery selections the past nine seasons, more than any other school. In 1999, Duke became the fi rst program in the history of the NBA Draft to have four players from the same school selected in the fi rst round. Three of the four — Elton Brand (Chicago), Trajan Langdon (Cleveland) and Corey Maggette (Seattle) — were lottery picks. In 2002, Jason Williams (2nd overall) and Mike Dunleavy (3rd) became just the second set of college teammates in the history of the NBA Draft to be the first two collegians selected.

Shane Battier
Miami Heat
#31 SF
Height: 6’8″ Weight: 220
Class of 2001
Elton Brand
Dallas Mavericks
#42 PF
Height: 6’8″ Weight: 265
Class of 1999
Chris Duhon
Los Angeles Lakers
#21 PG
Height: 6’1″ Weight: 185
Class of 2004
Grant Hill
Los Angeles Clippers
#33 SF
Height: 6’8″ Weight: 225
Class of 1994
Corey Maggette
Detroit Pistons
#50 SF
Height: 6’6″ Weight: 228
Class of 1999
J.J. Redick
Milwaukee Bucks
Height: 6’4″ Weight: 190
Class of 2006
Carlos Boozer
Chicago Bulls
#5 PF
Height: 6’9″ Weight: 260
Class of 2002
Luol Deng
Chicago Bulls
#9 SF
Height: 6’8″ Weight: 220
Class of 2004
Mike Dunleavy
Milwaukee Bucks
#10 SF
Height: 6’9″ Weight: 221
Class of 2002
Dahntay Jones
Atlanta Hawks
#7 G-F
Height: 6’6″ Weight: 210
Class of 2003
Shavlik Randolph
Boston Celtics
Height: 6’10” Weight: 240
Shelden Williams
Élan Chalon – Euroleague
Height: 6’9″ Weight: 250
Class of 2006
Other Blue Devils Who Have Played Professionally
Player Class of Last Team
Alaa Abdelnaby 1990 Sacramento Kings (NBA)
Mark Alarie 1986 Washington Bullets (NBA)
William Avery 1999 Hapoel Jerusalem (ISR)
Gene Banks 1981 Chicago Bulls (NBA)
Chris Carrawell 2000 Sydney (AUS)
Johnny Dawkins 1986 Detroit Pistons (NBA)
Brian Davis 1992 Minnesota Timberwolves (NBA)
Kenny Dennard 1981 Denver Nuggets (NBA)
Daniel Ewing 2005 Khimki (Russia)
Danny Ferry 1989 Indiana Pacers (NBA)
Mike Gminski 1980 Charlotte Hornets (NBA)
Dave Henderson 1986 Philadelphia 76ers (NBA)
Nick Horvath 2004 W.Sydney (AUS)
Bobby Hurley 1993 Sacramento Kings (NBA)
Nate James 2001 Kaposvari (HUN)
Christian Laettner 1992 Miami Heat (NBA)
Antonio Lang 1994 Mitsubishi (JPN)
Trajan Langdon 1999 CSKA Moscow
Roshown Mcleod 1998 Atlanta Hawks (NBA)
Lee Melchionni 2006
Tony Moore 1996 Wolfenbuettel (GER)
Martin Nessley 1987 Los Angeles Clippers (NBA)
Greg Newton 1997 Varese (ITA)
Cherokee Parks 1995 Golden St. Warriors (NBA)
Ricky Price 1998 Saint-Etienne (FRA)
Casey Sanders 2003 Plannja (SWE)
Vince Taylor 1982 New York Knicks (NBA)
Jay Williams 2002 Chicago Bulls (NBA)